ASTM sets standard D7862 for three types of butanol

October 9, 2013 |

In Pennsylvania, ASTM has released standard D7862 for butanol allowing for blends between 1% and 12.5%. The ASTM committee’s aim is for the new standard to allow more rapid commercialization of the fuel for blending. According to Biomass Magazine, the standard covers three types of butanol: 1-butanol (commonly known as N-butanol which is being developed by Cobalt), 2-methyl-1-propanol (commonly known as isobutanol, being developed by Gevo and Butamax) and 2-butanol. The standard specifically excludes 2-methyl-2-propanol (tert-butyl alcohol), which has different physical properties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: , ,

Category: Fuels

Thank you for visting the Digest.