Iogen CEO Foody lands Holmberg Award for Lifetime Achievement

March 5, 2017 |

In Washington, the Holmberg Award for Lifetime Achievement in Bioenergy was presented to Brian Foody at the 2017 Advanced Bioeconomy Leadership Conference. The award was presented to Mr. Foody by Jim Lane, Editor and Publisher, Biofuels Digest.

Commenting on the award, Lane said, “Brian Foody has not only led Iogen, he has led the entire cellulosic industry over decades of development. Iogen reached pilot-stage, then demonstration-scale, then a first commercial-scale deployment of cellulosic biofuels technology in Brazil. At each step, Iogen was not only the biggest, but a first to reach each step of scale. He’s a technology pioneer who has also built a strong company, and in recent years has deployed a new generation of technology for renewable cellulosic biogas and is the largest single producer in that sector as well. He’s been the first, and the best. Mr. Foody is just the fourth recipient of the Holmberg Award and his career is a shining example of what it is to build technologies that change economies through deployment. We congratulate him on this honor.”

About the Holmberg Award 

The Holmberg Award for Lifetime Achievement Bioenergy was established in early 2014 and is named after Lt. Colonel William (Bill) Holmberg. Holmberg had a long and distinguished military career and was the most highly-°©‐decorated graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, class of 1951, and so recognized by President George W. Bush during his speech to the USNA Class of 2001. Bill was one of the longtime Directors of the American Council on Renewable Energy and, over his long career in renewable energy, held senior positions at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. In these positions he helped to pioneer the ethanol and biodiesel industries. He retired from the federal government at the Senior Executive Service level. Bill spent an additional twenty-‐one years in the private sector, managing small businesses and associations relating to biofuels, including the New Uses Council and the Biomass Coordinating Council.

Until his death in 2016, he remained a steadfast champion in nearly every fight that the renewable fuels movement faced. The Holmberg Award has only been awarded three times. The first Holmberg award was presented to Col. Holmberg in 2014. In 2015, the award was given posthumously to Guido Ghisolfi, former CEO of Beta Renewables, and in 2016 Dr. Robert Graham, Chairman and Founder of Ensyn was the third recipient. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Category: Top Stories

Thank you for visting the Digest.